Inductees from Fleetwood Mac include Peter Green, Mick Fleetwood,Fleetood Mac accepting their awards Jeremy Spencer, John McVie, Danny Kirwan, Christine McVie, Lindsey Buckingham, and Stevie Nicks. The October 23rd press release describes Fleetwood Mac as "The kaleidoscopic evolution of this band--fronted for more than 25 years by Mick Fleetwood, John and Christine McVie--encompasses one of rock's most dazzling family trees, a multi-generational phenomenon which has kept them fresh and innovative for all that time. From their humble origins as late '60's hard-core British-bluesbreakers to their mega-platinum ascent as transplanted L.A. superstars in the '70s and '80s, Fleetwood Mac's status within the hierarchy of rock has never been challenged."

Also being inducted in January are The Eagles, The Mamas and the Papas, Lloyd Price, Santana, Gene Vincent, Jelly Roll Morton ('Early Influence'), and Allen Toussaint ("Non Performer"). Other members of relevance to Fleetwood Mac already include B.B. King, Eric Clapton and Muddy Waters.


Mick just thanked Peter for starting the band

"Artists become eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first record. Criteria considered includes the influence and significance of the artist's contribution to the development and perpetuation of producers, disc jockeys, record company executives, journalists and other industry professionals. The Foundation's nominating committee, composed of rock and roll historians, selects 5-7 nominees each year in the artist or performing category. Ballots are sent to an international voting body of about 1,000 rock experts. Those performers who receive the highest number and more than 50% of votes are inducted." (From the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Press Release)


Peter and Santana played Black Magic Woman

The Thirteenth Annual Induction Ceremony was held on Monday, January 12th, 1998 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City and the ceremony will air exclusively on VH1 on Monday, January 19th at 9:00pm. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was organized in 1983, and the first induction ceremony was held in 1986. The Hall of Fame is a permanent exhibit at the Museum, which opened to worldwide acclaim September, 1995 in Cleveland, Ohio.

Additional Information

Thanks to Phil Hof for providing the pictures from the ceremony and to Gypsy and Ava for the pictures of Fleetwood Mac backstage with their awards.

Return To The Penguin
Privacy Statement
Copyright 1995-2002, Martin and Lisa Adelson, All Rights Reserved.